I had heard of Perbacco and its spinoff restaurant Barbacco but hadn’t had a chance to check out either until recently. A friend was in town and staying not far from my office in the financial district so I thought this would be a great chance to finally go. I couldn’t get a table at Perbacco (plan early if you want a reservation) so Barbacco it was. The vibe is a little different at the sister restaurant. It’s a little more casual and the menu is different but it does not disappoint.

The restaurant can be a good date choice (it’s dimly lit at night) but it’s also great for eating with friends and during the weekdays it looks more like a typical FiDi lunch spot. We sat at the bar and quickly noticed the iPad in front of us (according to Eater SF, Barbacco was the first West Coast restaurant to utilize iPads for wine orders). When it comes to wine menus I just like having options, but the iPads were a nice touch.

Photo credit: Barbaccosf.com

Once we decided on wine it was time to tackle the menu. Everything sounded so delicious and all the items were sharable so it was difficult to choose. I loved everything we ate but my favorites were the Mushroom Risotto Croquettes, the Lasagna Bolognese and the Roasted Pear/Rucola/Gorgonzola bruschette (pictured below – sorry for my horrible picture-taking!). Man, I’m getting hungry just reminiscing about it!

The service was great, the atmosphere was perfect for a relaxed night out and the food was really, really good. No complaints (well, it would have been nice if the bar had purse hooks but you can’t have everything). I would definitely go back to Barbacco but I want to eat at Perbacco first!

Barbacco
220 California Street, SF
p: 415.955.1919
takeout: 415.955.1960
M-F lunch 11:30am-3pm
M-Sat dinner 5pm-10pm
http://www.barbaccosf.com/
 

~Christina

