Okay, you know how I was super upset at the last wine “tasting” I went to? The one where I felt like I was in an infomercial for Italian wineries? Yeah, that left such a bad taste in my mouth, I had sworn off tastings, until I found out about Wine Riot. Wine Riot is a huge tasting event where wine tasting is made less stuffy and more cool. The target is 21-35 year olds, to open up the world of wines to a younger audience. 

Update: We’ve had a ton of comments about the age range. There’s no age limit, ladies and gents! Their mission is just to make wine more approachable for a younger audience, who have previously thought about tastings as super stuffy and B-O-R-I-N-G. All you over 35s are welcome!!

What makes this tasting so cool? Well, check this out:

  • Over 250 wines to taste
  • Experts on hand to ask questions, while you’re tasting. (Even “dumb” ones.)
  • DJ Spinning (Who doesn’t want to dance a little when you’re tipsy?) 
  • Photo Booth (For when you get twisted and feel like dressing up.)
  • Food (Small bites to soak up the 250 wines you’ll be tasting.)
  • Local Wineries (A few from Virginia: Breaux Vineyards, Tarara Winery and Rappahannock Cellars.)
  • Mobile App (To remember what you’re tasting and what you liked. After 250 glasses, I’m sure they all meld together.)

Wine Riot is coming to DC, after having successful events in LA, Boston, Chicago and Brooklyn. I spoke with Rachel, their PR person, and she said they picked DC because of it being a cool east coast, urban location with public transportation (read: No DUIs on their watch.) Get on it, DC!!

Tickets are $50-60, and you can buy them here.

Riot One: Saturday, Oct. 22, 1-5 PM

Riot Two: Saturday, Oct. 22, 7-11 PM

Location: Daughters of the Revolution Constitution Hall

1776 D Street Northwest, Washington, DC

Enjoy!

~ Dana

