I am so sick of people talking about short ribs and how good they are. My friend Jen and I went to brunch, and she had short rib hash. Another friend got the short rib ravioli at my fave Italian spot. What’s so great about short ribs anyways? My husband and I don’t eat red meat (No pork on my fork or beef in my teeth, is what I say…). So I decided for our Tuesday night date night that I’d see if I could do this short rib thing with chicken.  And how perfect would mashed potatoes be with this? Perfect. Buuut…If you know my husband, he not only doesn’t eat red meat, pork, mushrooms, eggs, eggplant and everything else I love to cook, he also doesn’t eat any starches. So what could I do? Trick myself into thinking I am eating mashed potatoes by using mashed cauliflower. It sucks to be me. But dinner was good.

Red Wine Braised Short Ribs by Chef Anne Burrell

You will need:

  • 6 bone-in short ribs (about 5 3/4 pounds) — I used chicken thighs, as they are more fatty and are prone to fall apart.
  • Kosher salt
  • Extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 large Spanish onion, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 2 ribs celery, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 2 carrots, peeled, cut in 1/2 lengthwise, then cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 2 cloves garlic, smashed
  • 1 1/2 cups tomato paste
  • 2 to 3 cups hearty red wine
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 bunch fresh thyme, tied with kitchen string
  • 2 bay leaves

 

Directions:

1. Season each short rib generously with salt. Coat a pot large enough to accommodate all the meat and vegetables with olive oil and bring to a high heat.

2. Add the short ribs to the pan and brown very well, about 2 to 3 minutes per side. Do not overcrowd pan. Cook in batches, if necessary.

3. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

4. While the short ribs are browning, puree all the vegetables and garlic in the food processor until it forms a coarse paste. When the short ribs are very brown on all sides, remove them from the pan. Drain the fat, coat the bottom of same pan with fresh oil and add the pureed vegetables.

5. Season the vegetables generously with salt and brown until they are very dark and a crud has formed on the bottom of the pan, approximately 5 to 7 minutes. Scrape the crud and let it reform.

6. Scrape the crud again and add the tomato paste. Brown the tomato paste for 4 to 5 minutes. Add the wine and scrape the bottom of the pan. Lower the heat if things start to burn. Reduce the mixture by half.

7. Return the short ribs to the pan and add 2 cups water or until the water has just about covered the meat. Add the thyme bundle and bay leaves. Cover the pan and place in the preheated oven for 3 hours. (For chicken, you only need to braise for 1 hour.)

8. Check periodically during the cooking process and add more water, if needed. Turn the ribs over halfway through the cooking time. Remove the lid during the last 20 minutes of cooking to let things get nice and brown and to let the sauce reduce. When done the meat should be very tender but not falling apart. Serve with the braising liquid.

My husband is all about the gym. So mashed potatoes don’t really fly. (I can’t wait to have kids so I can force them to eat pasta and starches with me). These are a good substitute for mashed potatoes.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

You will need:

  • 1 head cauliflower
  • 1 head garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • butter to taste
  • heavy cream to taste
Directions:

1. Cut cauliflower into pieces to fit into a large saucepan2. Boil with 1/4 cup water until tender, about 10 minutes.

3. Drain cauliflower.

4. Meanwhile, roast full head of garlic in 400 degree oven.

5. To do this: chop the top off of the garlic head, drizzle with olive oil and wrap in aluminum foil.

6. Roast until caramelized and outside is brown, about 30 minutes.

7. Squeeze the cloves of garlic out of the outer shell and into the cauliflower.

8. Puree garlic, cauliflower, salt, pepper and few tablespoons of butter in food processor.

9. Add a few tablespoons of heavy cream.

10. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy!

~ Dana

