So everyone raaaves about Ina Garten’s Barefoot Contessa Book, How Easy Is That? And I must admit, in her show, she makes everything seem easy. That’s partially what I love about her. The other part that I love about her is that her husband only comes home on the weekends. That, in my book, means she’s a smart, smart woman.

I decided that I would try a recipe from this infamous book. And I have to tell you, it was that easy.  I’ve been obsessed with this Salmon Niçoise salad from Nordstrom Cafe (hey, a girl needs a break from shopping every now and then), so I made herb-crusted salmon and a salad with dijon vinaigrette to go with it. Delicious. When my husband came home for dinner, he was so impressed that I turned over a new healthy leaf, literally. I could totally throw this in the oven and have a few friends over. Super simple.

Roasted Salmon with Green Herbs

From Barefoot Contessa, 2012, How Easy Is That?

You will need:

  • 1 (2 – 2 1/2 lb) skinless salmon fillet  Note: You can get the butcher to remove the skin for you. At my lovely local Harris Teeter, they weighed the fish with the skin on, and then removed it. Classy.
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup good olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup minced scallions, white and green parts (4 scallions)
  • 1/2 cup minced fresh dill
  • 1/2 cup minced fresh parsley
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • Lemon wedges, for serving

 

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

2. Place the salmon fillet in a glass, ceramic, or stainless-steel roasting dish and season it generously with salt and pepper. Note: When she says generously, she means it. I undersalted my fish and had to add it at the end. Do it beforehand — it’s much  better. 

3. Whisk together the olive oil and lemon juice and drizzle the mixture evenly over the salmon. Let it stand at room temperature for 15 minutes. Note: You know I’m a garlic freak, so you’ll see I added some minced garlic here.

4. In a small bowl, stir together the scallions, dill, and parsley. Scatter the herb mixture over the salmon fillet, turning it so that both sides are generously coated with the green herbs. Pour the wine around the fish fillet.

5. Roast the salmon for 10 to 12 minutes, until almost cooked in the center at the thickest part. The center will be firm with just a line of uncooked salmon in the very center. (I peek by inserting the tip of a small knife.) Cover the dish tightly with aluminum foil and allow to rest for 10 minutes. Cut the salmon crosswise into serving pieces and serve hot with lemon wedges.

Enjoy!

~ Dana

