I stumbled upon these curved rainbow glasses at the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) design store.

The concept behind the MoMA store is that everything is designed by artists or industrial designers, and are meant to be really cool as well as functional. When I saw these glasses, I immediately thought about all of the colors that showed up in the Spring/Summer 2011 Fashion Week shows. (Working in the beauty industry, you find all sorts of ways to link random things to fashion…)

Ignoring the skinny legs and the stone faced models, I pulled out some of my faves. Yes, okay, so I picked two Tibi looks, but that’s because I adore the fact that the fashion house didn’t just do dresses, but shorts and pants for the summer. Remember culottes? Yes, I had a pair, and so did you.

While there was a lot of color on the runway, there were also pops of neutral colors to contrast. You can see this on the DKNY and Lanvin models, with khaki belts and bags, which is so much more summer than using black to contrast. I just wanted to point out two super awesome details: Alexandre Herchcovitch had models with matching shoes, glasses and biker gloves. Awesome! And check out this Marc Jacobs necklace, detailed below. Seriously, tell me this man isn’t a genius.

Enjoy!

~Dana

