So on Tuesdays, my husband and I have date night. Now when I say “date night”, of course I don’t mean an actual date, but a night where we actually sit down together and eat, instead of watching some stupid rerun on Boomerang. (Although those old Cosby Show reruns still make me laugh…) On these nights I also try to challenge myself to cook without a recipe. It’s not so easy, but I’m getting better. There’s a book I want to read called How to Be an Intuitive Chef. And reading my Flavor Bible has helped a ton. So I decided to make chicken rollatinis.

Rollatinis are also called roulades. They are rolled up pieces of meat that are stuffed with things. Because I didn’t use a recipe, I’m going to challenge you to do the same, although I’ve listed my ingredients and how I did it all below.

Chicken Rollatinis with Spinach and Almonds

You will need:

Rollatinis:

  • chicken breasts, thinly sliced and/or pounded out to make thinner
  • bread crumbs
  • thyme
  • rosemary
  • salt 
  • pepper
  • garlic 

Filling:

  • spinach (frozen is fine)
  • shallots (I decided to use shallots because the flavor is more mellow, but you can certainly use onions.)
  • garlic
  • salt
  • pepper
  • slivered almonds
  • You could also throw a splash of white wine in there if you want.

Directions:

For filling:

1. Pound chicken breasts out until they are thin enough to roll. I started with thinly sliced breasts, so it was much easier. I used a meat tenderizer, which looks like a mallet, and did it between two sheets of plastic wrap to keep it clean. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

2. Sautee garlic and shallots until translucent

3. Add in almonds

4. Add in chopped spinach

5. Season with salt and pepper, to taste. (This could be good with a little parmesan cheese also!) 

6. Take spoonfull of spinach mixture and spread over chicken.

7. Roll up and secure with toothpick

For breading:

  1. Mix ingredients together to taste. For this step, I used a microplane to grate the garlic. Because it will be a breading, you don’t want big chunks of garlic. I’m also really into sea salt right now, so I used this in the mixture.
  2. Brush chicken breasts with olive oil
  3. Roll in breading mixture and set aside

To finish:

  1. Brown on stovetop until chicken is partially cooked and lightly brown
  2. Finish in the oven at 450 degrees for 30 minutes.

Let me know how yours turned out!

~ Dana

