I have to state up front that this wasn’t supposed a be a “rummy” dish but you know how things go sometimes. It started off when I found a recipe for “Apricot Compote” in this month’s bon appétit magazine. I was visiting my friends Johanna and Mark and their daughter one Sunday and Johanna and I poured through a couple of recipe sources before deciding to make this. I was pretty excited, especially because I don’t eat apricots that often (not fresh ones, anyway) and I liked the fact that I could eat these with some Greek yogurt.

After cooking and chilling the apricots we took them out of the fridge and tasted them. Ugh. We were so bummed because they just tasted like chilled apricots. I cooked them in lime juice and sugar for 8 minutes and they tasted like I hadn’t done anything to them at all. Perhaps the problem was that the apricots weren’t ripe enough. They should probably need to be more than just-ripe. But the recipe does call for “firm ripe apricots.” Hmmm. Maybe it wasn’t my fault after all.

So Mark mentions that the apricots would probably taste really good cooked in rum. Rum! And that’s what we did. Johanna added some sugar and rum to a skillet and we re-cooked the apricots in that mixture. Ah, so much better! The sugar and rum amounts you will have to determine on your own. It really is about personal preference with this one.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb firm ripe apricots, halved, pitted
  • 2 tbsp fresh lime juice
  • 2 – 3 tbsp sugar
  • Greek yogurt or vanilla ice cream
  • Fresh tarragon leaves (optional)
  • Rum (optional)
Directons
  1. Combine apricots, lime juice and sugar in a large skillet. Cook over medium heat, turning occasionally, until apricots are glazed and syrupy, 7-8 minutes. If you’re going to add rum, I would do it at the end – when the fruit is glazed.
  2. Transfer to a small bowl and chill.
  3. Serve with yogurt or ice cream and garnish with tarragon leaves, if desired.
~Christina
