What could be more appropriate to eat on American Independence Day than cherries? For a summer picnic I made two different types of crostini, made light and bright with a base of lemony ricotta. The first was topped with sliced figs and honey. I made two versions of the fig crostini. The first time, I used chestnut honey and I discovered that do no like chestnut honey for the same reason I don’t like sheep’s milk cheeses. To me, sheep’s milk cheeses remind me of the smell of a petting zoo. When we were little and went to the petting zoo we would feed little goats and sheep with a handful of pellets you could buy for 25 cents. I have never forgotten that smell, unfortunately, because whenever I eat cheeses made of sheep’s milk I can “taste” the smell of sheep. I don’t know if all chestnut honey tastes like this or it was the region or producer that made a difference but I was not a fan. So I made the fig crostini a second time with regular clover honey and it was much better.

The cherry crostini is simple and delicious. It’s sweeter than the fig crostini but you can control the level of sweetness with the amount of sugar you use. Lastly, I squeezed lemon juice into the ricotta but feel free to use lemon zest if you prefer.

Fig and Honey Crostini

Ingredients

  • figs
  • honey of choice
  • lemon juice (or zest)
  • ricotta
  • baguette of choice
Directions
  1. Cut baguette at an angle into slices. Brush with olive oil and toast in a 375° oven for approximately 5 minutes.
  2. Add lemon juice or zest to ricotta to desired taste. Spread on toasted bread slices.
  3. Slice figs and place on top of each slice. Drizzle with honey.
  4. You can also sprinkle the crostini with salt and pepper, if you wish.
Cherry Crostini
Ingredients
  • sweet cherries
  • light brown sugar
  • ricotta
  • lemon
  • baguette
Directions
  1. De-pit and chop the cherries. Add brown sugar and mash them until combined and a little juicy.
  2. While the cherries are sitting, brush the baguette slices with olive oil and toast in the oven.
  3. Add lemon juice or zest to ricotta to desired taste. Spread on toasted bread slices.
  4. Spoon cherries on top of each slice.
~Christina
