Here’s a pretty light chicken dish I made the other night. I actually made it twice. The first time I attempted it I was rushing and I did everything wrong so it didn’t turn out the way it should have. I didn’t measure the lemon juice and the sauce turned out way too lemony for my taste. Plus, I over-cooked the leeks and the sauce turned brown. It was a mess. The taste wasn’t the worst but I was really disappointed in myself. Luckily, I had bought twice the amount of ingredients I needed so I was able to try it again a few days later and it was much better. The flavor is not super strong or overpowering which I like, especially for a summer meal. It also doesn’t take long to make it. It would be a good idea to chop, juice and measure as much as you can at the start so you don’t end up over-cooking anything, as I did.

From Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything

Ingredients

  • 4 tbsp butter or extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 leeks, washed well and diced, including some of the green part, or 2 small onions, diced
  • ½ cup dry white wine or water
  • ½ cup chicken or vegetable stock or water
  • ½ tsp chopped fresh thyme or tarragon leaves or a good pinch dried
  • Approximately 1½ lbs boneless white-meat chicken (breasts, cutlets, or tenders), cut into 1- to 1½-inch chunks
  • 2 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions

  1. Put half the butter or oil in a large skillet over medium heat. When the butter is melted or the oil is hot, add the leeks and cook, stirring, until softened, about 5 minutes. Add the wine, stock, and herb; bring to a boil and let bubble for a minute or two.
  2. Add the chicken, turn the heat down to medium-low, cover, and simmer until the meat is barely cooked through, 5 or 6 minutes. Remove the chicken with a slotted spoon and keep warm.
  3. Turn the heat up to high and cook the sauce rapidly, stirring occasionally, until just about ¾ cup remains; this will take 5 to 10 minutes. Lower the heat to medium-low, add the lemon juice, then stir in the remaining butter or oil, a bit at a time. If you’re using oil, add it gradually, stirring vigorously with the back of a spoon as you do so.
  4. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and return the chicken to the sauce to heat through.

~Christina

