I admit that I haven’t been the best at loading my diet with fruits and vegetables lately (and I think I’m feeling it). Besides not getting enough sleep, I know lack of gym time and my diet have been contributing to overall sluggishness and dull skin. It’s a shame because vegetables take no time to prepare and they’re so easy to incorporate into a meal. That’s why I was excited when I saw a super-easy recipe in the June 2011 bon appétit. I don’t cook Swiss chard often but the variety of vibrant colors was so beautiful that I couldn’t stop saying to my grandmother “Look how pretty they are!” The photo of cooked Swiss chard doesn’t do them justice. The phytonutrients reflected in those colors indicate that Swiss chard provides antioxidant and anti-inflammatory benefits.

Swiss chard is also a really healthy choice (if you care about that sort of thing, and you should) because it’s an excellent source of vitamins C, K, A, niacin, the B-complex vitamins and minerals such as iron, copper, calcium, potassium and manganese. What does all of this mean? Swiss chard contributes to a healthy diet and can help ward off diseases such as colon and prostate cancers, regulate blood pressure and protect your brain. All great reasons to eat it!

Ingredients

  • 1 lb Swiss chard
  • 2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • ¼ cup finely chopped onion
  • fresh lemon juice
Directions
  1. Rinse the Swiss chard, drain
  2. Cut leaves and stems into ¼” – ½” inch strips and pieces
  3. In a large skillet, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat
  4. Add stems (just the stems, not the leaves!), garlic and onion to the skillet and sauté until onion softens
  5. Add the leaves and cook, stirring occasionally, until tender, about 5 minutes.
  6. Finish with a squeeze of lemon
~Christina
