Let’s face it: if you don’t like bananas you won’t want to make this. There’s just no hiding the taste. But I happen to love banana flavor in desserts (but not banana-flavored candy, that’s just gross) so I was excited to make this banana bread. The recipe came from How to Cook Everything (again, my favorite cookbook) and if you’ve ever made banana bread you know it’s a pretty simple process. This recipe also calls for finely shredded coconut but if you don’t like the taste of coconut you can easily exclude it. I also chopped the walnuts in the food processor to make them finer because I wanted them to blend into the bread more and not change the texture.

Though the flavor of the bread was great, I think it was just slightly less moist than I would have preferred. And that could have been because I didn’t use enough banana or it could be that I took the bread out of the oven to test its done-ness about three or four times. Not good. I’ll definitely make it again but I think I’ll experiment with other recipes to find the one I like best.

Ingredients

  • 8 tbsp (1 stick) butter, softened, plus butter for the pan
  • 1½ cups all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1½ tsp baking powder
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 very ripe bananas, mashed with a fork until smooth
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • ½ cup chopped walnuts or pecans
  • ½ cup shredded coconut
Directions
  1. Heat the oven to 350°F. Grease a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan with butter.
  2. Mix together the dry ingredients. With a hand mixer, whisk or in a food processor, cream the butter and beat in the eggs and bananas. Stir this mixture into the dry ingredients, just enough to combine. Gently stir in the vanilla, nuts and coconut.
  3. Pour the batter into the loaf pan and bake for 45 – 60 minutes, until nice browned. Use the toothpick test to check for done-ness (a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf will come out clean). Cool on a rack for 15 minutes before removing from the pan.

~Christina

