Mmm-mmm-mmm! This is a perfect salad for a warm day or if you’re just in the mood for a refreshing and delicious treat. I’ve been on a real watermelon kick lately, especially those little ones that are about the size of a volleyball. It’s so easy to eat half of one as a snack (and it’s healthier than having ice cream for dessert).

As has become my cooking ritual, I went over to my grandparents’ house, armed with groceries, to kill two birds with one stone: spend time with my grandmother and get some cooking done. My grandmother asked me what I was making and when I told her it was a watermelon-and-tomato salad, she said “Why would you want to waste a perfectly good watermelon like that?” She did not know just how good the combination would be. But when I finished plating it and gave her a bite, she became a convert.

To make it a bit more colorful and add a bit of sweetness, I used heirloom tomatoes. I just can’t fully put into words how delicious this salad was to me. Not only did the flavors of the watermelon and tomatoes combine in a phenomenal way, the goat cheese played off those flavors, adding a slight tangy-ness and a wonderful creamy texture.

Ingedients

  • Tomatoes (try heirloom)
  • Watermelon
  • Goat cheese
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper

Directions

  1. Slice the tomatoes and watermelon into rounds of equal width
  2. Alternately stack tomato and watermelon slices. Sprinkle each slice with salt and pepper
  3. Top with goat cheese
  4. Drizzle with olive oil
  5. Enjoy!
~Christina
