This may be the easiest and most delicious pasta with tomato sauce you’ll ever make. Dana and I served it at a dinner party once and it was a huge hit. This is one of those dishes that reminds me of how much I love Italian food. And I really, really love Italian food.

Oddly enough, this recipe comes from the McCormick web site (yes, the seasonings company). I honestly can’t remember how I found it – maybe through an ad in a magazine – but who cares? It’s delicious! Because I love garlic so much, I add more than the recipe calls for (maybe 4, 5 or 6 cloves) and I also add more red pepper flakes than the recipe lists. I had a jar of marinated artichokes lying around so I plopped a few of those into my serving of pasta and it was really good. You may also consider buying a few more tomatoes if you like your pasta on the saucier side.

Honestly, you can’t go wrong with this recipe. If you’re ever hosting people for dinner (or lunch) it’s a great choice because it’s so tasty, quick and easy.

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs medium plum tomatoes (10 to 12), halved lengthwise
  • ½ cup olive oil, divided
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp Italian Seasoning (try McCormick brand)
  • ½ tsp red pepper, crushed
  • ½ tsp sea salt (try McCormick Sicilian Sea Salt)
  • ¼ tsp coarsely ground black pepper
  • 8 oz fettuccine (or spaghetti)

Directions 

1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Place tomato halves, cut-sides up, in foil-lined or non-stick 15 x 10 x 1-inch pan sprayed with no stick cooking spray. Mix 1/4 cup of the oil, minced garlic and seasonings in small bowl. Spoon over tomatoes. Drizzle with 2 tablespoons of the remaining oil.

2. Roast 45 to 60 minutes until tomatoes are soft and browned on top.

3. Prepare pasta as directed on package. Drain well. Place 1/2 of the roasted tomatoes and remaining 2 tablespoons oil in large bowl. Coarsely mash tomatoes. Add pasta and remaining roasted tomatoes; toss to mix well. Sprinkle with shredded Parmesan cheese and additional crushed red pepper, if desired

