Match made in heaven….

I love lemons. I love lemonade, lemon cookes and especially lemon cake. My wedding cake was lemon. It was such a hit that I had an entire bottom layer of cake left, and I lugged it from my wedding in Virginia back to NYC to my office, and everyone gobbled it up. With my lemon affinity established, I thought I’d combine two things I love: lemon curd and mascarpone cheese with a frosting made with both. (Recipe from Bon Appetit.)

So I have to admit, when I found out what lemon curd was, I was totally grossed out. You can see in the recipe below. It’s egg yolks. Buuut…they are actually cooked by the time you’re done with the recipe. Lemon curd is something I always get with my scones at Tea and Sympathy in NYC, and serve with my dried cherry scones. But you know me, I was going to attempt to make it.

You will need:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3 large egg yolks
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
Whisking the ingredients and cooking the lemon curd

1. Whisk first 4 ingredients in medium metal bowl. Set bowl over saucepan of simmering water (Do not allow bottom of bowl to touch water).

2. Whisk constantly until thickened and instant-read thermometer inserted into mixture registers 160°F, about 10 minutes. (Okay, so be careful with this. If you cook the eggs too long, they can end up tasting slightly metallic.)

3. Remove bowl from over water.

Whisking in the butter; Finished Curd

4. Add butter; whisk until melted.

5. Transfer 1 cup curd to small bowl for spreading on cake layers.

6. Reserve remaining curd for filling.

7. Press plastic wrap directly onto surface of both curds (This prevents that freaky skin thing that happens with puddings). Chill overnight. (Can be made 3 days ahead. Keep chilled.)

Okay, so you could totally stop here and be happy. But why? You can make frosting with mascarpone cheese (a super creamy Italian cheese) and frost up a cake, using the lemon curd. What could be better?

You will need:

Filling and frosting
  • 2 cups chilled heavy whipping cream
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 8-ounce containers chilled mascarpone cheese

  1. Beat whipping cream and sugar in large bowl until peaks form.
  2. Add mascarpone to lemon curd (from above)  in medium bowl; whisk until blended.
  3. Fold whipped cream into lemon-mascarpone mixture.

Just layer this and the lemon curd between yellow layer cake. Amazing!! 

~ Dana

