One of the best things about springtime is… strawberries! That’s right, strawberries are in season. I have always had a “thing” for strawberries. When I was a kid (and even today), my birthday cake had to be strawberry (with whipped cream frosting). Nowadays, I’m careful with them since so many of our produce is grown using pesticides and berries, particularly strawberries, soak up pesticides like a sponge. So I only eat organically grown strawberries which aren’t as easy to find in restaurants as I’d like, therefore I don’t have them too often.

If you’re like me, you usually think of desserts when you think of strawberries but you can enjoy them in more savory foods as well. Here is a super easy, quick and tasty salad that I’m sure you will enjoy.

Ingredients

  • 2-3 cups strawberries
  • 3-4 cups Arugula
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • Extra virgin olive oil 
  • Cracked black pepper (to taste)
  • Goat cheese (optional)

Preparation

  1. Wash and cut the strawberries into halves or quarters. Toss the strawberries in balasamic vinegar and sprinkle with pepper. Let sit for 10-15 minutes.
  2. Wash and dry the arugula. Mix the strawberries and arugula together. Add olive oil, to taste.
  3. Optional: Sprinkle goat cheese onto the salad and toss one more time before serving.

 

~Christina

