None of these make the cut...Trust me!

None of my friends drink rosé wines. As we’re climbing our way up in society, brunching and acting sophisticated (while still watching Jersey Shore and American Idol), they’ve said that it seems well, a bit corny to ask for a rosé wine. Like, you’re not grown up enough for a full-bodied red? Do your friends ever ask you: “Hey do you want white or rosé? I’ve got both here in the fridge.” Nope, mine either.

So why is that? Truth be told, rosé wines aren’t so different from reds. We think of them as weaker red wines, instead of a whole entity within themselves. In reality, rosé wines and red wines start off in the same place. The thing that makes red wines red is the contact with the skin of the grapes. Whereas in red wines the skin is left in with the liquid during the fermentation process, it’s thrown out after a few days with rosé wines. Contact with the skin of a grape creates tannins as well as color, but good flavor can happen in a wine without prolonged contact with the skin. The skin creating the color, to be honest, makes perfect sense, because if it were the fruit itself that made the wine red, people would be making wines out of cherries. (Which actually sounds delicious, by the way…)

As you may have guessed from the name, rosé wines in name hail from France. As is always the case, the same wine can be made all over the world, but called different things. These wines are made in Spain, Italy and here in the US.

So I want you to get this out of your head the whole “rosé wines are white zinfandel” thing, which yes, is true. But wine in a box isn’t exactly classy, and not what I’m talking about. I think people don’t drink rosés because they don’t know what these wines really are. Here are a few points about rosés, and I’m hoping you will want to try them for yourself:

– Great rosé wines come from Provence, France. If you’ve discovered Croque Monsieur, that should be enough to convince you that good things come from France.

– Rosés are typically dry, dry, dry when made in Europe, and sweeter when made in the US

– They are quite fruit forward — with flavors of raspberries and strawberries

– They are lighter bodied (yes, they still have body) and best served chilled

– Rosés are extremely versatile when it comes to food

So I’m just saying — give the wine a chance. I promise if I see you sipping on a rosé wine, I wont’ judge. Now my friends judging you, that’s another story…I’m trying to bring them around…

~ Dana

