A couple weeks ago I was shopping at Whole Foods (my favorite grocery store, in case you hadn’t noticed) and had the chance to taste a product I really liked. For some reason I usually pass right by those people giving out free samples of things – I think it’s because I don’t want to feel pressured to buy something I don’t like. This happened to me recently: I sampled a product at a grocery store that I wasn’t really thrilled with but it was a new product started by two women and I felt that I should support them so I bought the item and hated it. So when I saw the man at Whole Foods with his table and frying pan I tried to get away but when he called out to me I had no choice but to see what he was cooking. He told me about Nona Iole’s Soffritto. I had heard of “sofrito” before but had never actually used it. Sofrito (or soffritto, refogado, sofregit, ginisa, etc. depending on the culture and the cuisine) is basically a blend of vegetables and spices that are used as a base in cooking.

The product that Whole Foods sells is called Nonna Iole’s Soffritto. They have three different blends: Original Italian, Mexican and Spicy Mexican. I tried Italian and Mexican and bought one of each because it tasted SO good. Last week I used the Italian blend with some sauté vegetables and it was just about the easiest thing I’ve ever made. All I did was wash and chop four cups of vegetables (squash, broccoli, zucchini, carrots) and sautéed them in a pan with a bit of olive oil and a little more than a tablespoon of the soffritto. After two minutes I added some water, covered the pan and cooked it down for about five minutes. The result was yummy, buttery, flavorful vegetables. So delicious.

For more information and stores: http://nonnaiolessoffritto.com

