Now as much as I wish that I was talking about an exercise Boot Camp that whips me into shape, I’m not. I am talking about a cheese boot camp. A super intensive 3 day long cheese class that explores over 100 cheeses. Murray’s is one of New York’s oldest and most famous cheese shops. The three-day class started with animal husbandry and dairy science. Interesting-ish, but a little gross when you get into the particulars of how milk is made, if you know what I mean…

We tasted almost 100 cheeses, learning more about flavor profiles and aging processes, pairing each with wines from across the world. I discovered some of my favorite cheeses, and realized that I truly do not like washed rind cheeses. Truly. There were several different instructors with varying backgrounds – authors and former cheese education directors, wine shop owners and people who really love cheese.

The class also explores Murray’s Cheese caves. Murrays is situated in the West Village, and you’d never know it, but there are caves (man-made, of course) under the store. They actually own the whole block, and the caves run under Amy’s Bread and the Lobster Store that share the block. Caves are used to finish the aging process when cheeses are shipped a little young. That way you ensure your cheeses are displayed at exactly the right time. Murray’s has separate caves for different types of cheese, to make sure the bacteria or molds are not cross-pollinated. Look out for the washed rind room, because it smells like you know what. You can intern at murray’s caves, which I think would be cool, but you’d end up smelling like the ammonia caves at the end of every day…

Interested in the class? Check it out here.

