You may have figured out by now that I am often looking for healthy (or healthier) foods. A while back I discovered a line of dairy-free ice creams made by a company called Turtle Mountain. I quickly became hooked on the Purely Decadent© (the name says it all) Pomegranate Chip and recently tried Purely Vanilla. Both are soy-based. I think if you were to serve the vanilla “ice cream” at a dinner party no one would know that it was made with soy because the company has managed to keep the richness and flavor intact.

The company has broadened its product line to include a wide variety of soy-based and coconut-based frozen desserts  (all of which I want to try, particularly Butter Pecan and Green Tea) as well as yogurts, creamers and coconut milk.

Turtle Mountain maintains prides itself on using organic, non-GMO and all natural ingredients in its products. The company has won numerous awards from animal rights and vegan groups and has committed itself to sustainable practices.

You probably would expect dairy-free desserts to appeal to folks who are lactose-intolerant or vegan but as someone who is neither of those I can tell you that is not the case. I love these products (the ones I have tried so far) and can’t wait to try many more. And some of the desserts are free of saturated fats which makes them a healthier alternative to milk-based ice cream.

