This goat cheese and caramelized crostini is super easy to make, and one of my favorites. It’s a perfect balance of tangy and sweet.

Ingredients:

  • 8 large shallots, peeled and halved
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • Sugar, to taste
  • Bread for crostini
  1. Take the shallots and sauté them in a pan with a little butter. Add sugar by the teaspoonful. Add more butter and sugar to taste, until shallots are caramelized. This means nice and brown and soft. If you under cook these, they end up crunchy and onion-y, which is not scrumptious. Soft and sweet is what we’re looking for. The sugar is to taste, so I’d suggest adding a little bit at a time until you’re happy.
  2. Once you sauté the shallots, transfer to a bowl and top with a fresh, rind-less chèvre (goat cheese). Stay away from goat cheeses with an ash coating (i.e. Valençay). Just a simple goat cheese. Warning here: if it’s in brine, don’t use it. Some grocery stores have this stuff in a pyramid container in a nasty juice. Don’t do it. It tastes all salty and wrong.
  3. Serve this with crostini, using rustic country bread, drizzled with oil and baked in a 400 degree oven until crispy and slightly browned. Flip over and crisp the other side. They should be nice and crunchy before serving.

I could eat this all day. And, to the horror of my husband, I did once. It actually wasn’t my finest moment, now that I think about it. But the tang of the goat cheese and the sweet of the shallots is amazing. Amazing, I tell you!! Pair this with a crisp, acidic white wine like a Grüner Veltliner. Yummy!

~Dana

