I happened upon SoHo Park one night while out with a friend. We were looking for a place to grab a bite and SoHo Park just sort of jumped out to us on the corner of Prince and Lafayette. It has a great look, sort of an indoor-outdoor garden with giant windows. And since it was summer and the weather was warm we took advantage of the outdoor seating on the sidewalk. One thing I really liked about the outdoor patio was that it was walled off by these big planters so we didn’t feel like the folks walking down the sidewalk were in our space. The plants weren’t so big, however, that they prevented a friend from recognizing us as he was walking past the restaurant. I guess that’s one of the great things about New York (or not so great things, depending on your perspective): if you stay still long enough you’re bound to run into someone you know.

The menu was a bit daunting at first for two reasons: 1. I generally try to eat healthfully and save my fat calories for goodies like good-quality cheese (generally with wine), so a menu full of fried things was anxiety-inducing and 2. the menu was so full of fried and grilled things that I wasn’t sure which item would make me feel the least guilty. Basically ignoring 1 and 2 I decided to share an order of Southern Fried Pickles with my friend and I also ordered the Grilled Two Cheese sandwich (Parmesan and Gruyère). The pickles came with some dipping sauces. We had garlic aioli, ketchup and black olive mayo. I didn’t know what to make of olive mayonnaise at first but it was the hands-down winner of the three. I don’t even like to use mayo very often but this was a tasty sauce. The grilled cheese was really good as well and it came with potato chips that I didn’t really eat because I felt like I was on oil overload by that point.

By the way, we had no problems with the service. Our waitress was attentive and helpful when we were trying to decide what to order. I had read some complaints online from other patrons who felt they hadn’t received proper service but that can happen on any night of the week in nearly any restaurant in the city depending on your luck.

Needless to say, I left SoHo Park feeling very satisfied and just a little bit guilty.

~Christina

