Whether you call them “car-a-mel apples” or “kahr-mull apples” they are one tasty treat. And they bring back great memories of going to carnivals and fairs when I was a kid because that was the only time we ever had caramel apples. Sure, my mom made popcorn balls (with Karo’s syrup which I can’t even fathom making nowadays) but I don’t recall having any homemade caramel apples growing up.

And they’re so easy to make! Seriously, it’s ridiculous. All you need is:

  • about 6 apples
  • 1 14 oz. package of individually wrapped caramels (which you will have to unwrap, obviously)
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • sticks

I’d say you need about 6 apples because you could use less if you’re like us and you want a thicker layer of caramel goodness wrapped around those babies. Also, a thicker layer helps create the look our apples had: sort of like a melting face reminiscent of horror movies (see photo above). I’m pretty sure we used 4 apples. As for what kind of apples to use, that is also up to you but we used Honeycrisp which I think it my new favorite apple. The name says it all. They are sweet and when you bite into them the definitely have a nice snap. And of course, please buy organic if at all possible.

Apples with hard-to-find craft sticks

I looked high and low for those thick craft sticks you usually see in a caramel apple at the fair but I didn’t have much luck in the short amount of time I had to search. So I ended finding skewers at Whole Foods but forgot to actually put them in my basket and it wasn’t until I had checked out of the store that I realized I forgot to buy them. I also couldn’t find caramels at Whole Foods so I had to go a block over to Duane Reade. Guess what? They didn’t have caramels either so I went to the Walgreens on the next block and Eureka! I found them. But I still needed those sticks so I went across the street to Food Emporium and bought some skewers there. And while I was looking for skewers I saw a bag of caramels that came with sticks! Boo. I could have saved myself a lot of trouble if I had gone to Food Emporium in the first place. This is what happens when you have a favorite grocery store as I do with Whole Foods so you don’t even bother going to any other stores until you can’t find what you need at your default grocery store. But I digress.

To prepare the apples, wash and remove the stems and spear each one with a stick. Unwrap all the caramels and place them in a microwave-safe bowl with the milk. Microwave on high for 2 minutes, stirring once. While you’re heating the caramels, butter a baking sheet. Once the caramels are melted, roll each apple in the sauce, coating it completely. You have to do this quickly as the caramel starts to harden pretty quickly. I actually had to re-heat the sauce briefly to make it liquid enough for coating. My guess is that if I had placed the bowl of melted caramel into a bowl of hot water that would have prevented the caramel from hardening (will have to try that next time). Place each coated apple on the buttered baking sheet and allow them to cool. We popped them in the fridge while we ate dinner and they were ready in time for dessert.

And now that we know how easy caramel apples are to make, we’ve decided that we can have them every week if we want to. That would probably be a bit taxing on our digestive systems (as well as our calorie counts!) so we’ll probably make them less often so they can remain the special treat they were meant to be.

~Christina

